Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

REVIEW: 5 / 5 stars

This is such a heartfelt and relate-able classic American tale. While race isn’t really discussed and there aren’t extremely diverse characters featured, class differences, helping others, and not marrying someone for their money are all central to this book’s themes. The content and reading level is suitable for high school age and older, though I appreciate certain scenes more now since getting married, and I’ll be sure to read this again after having my own children.

Little Women is a novel that centers around the family dynamics of the March girls–Jo, Meg, Amy, and Beth–and how they grow up through their interactions with each other, their parents, friends, neighbors, and potential suitors. I find this refreshing to come back to every couple of years because, as a young American woman, I relate to this deeply. I am one of four children, recently married, and there is great advice in here from Mrs. March and others on how to be a good neighbor and generous human being while also taking care of your own family.

I listened to the Audible Originals audio book version with the third party omniscient narrator voiced by Laura Dern, and a full cast with different actors for each character. Meg’s voice was a little annoying and Marmi sounded a lot older than she’s written, but most voices were spot-on, especially Laurie, Amy, and Bahr. This was very pleasant to listen to, and I recommend this version to any fan of Louisa May Alcott.

I give this book 5 stars because I enjoy it so much and these characters hold a special place in my heart, like those in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series. So, while I may be biased, I recognize that there are issues with this book. For one, most of the first half of the book takes place during the Civil War, but sociopolitical upheaval and consequences of that war are not discussed at all. I know that the war is not the focus of the story, but both Mr. March and John serve on the side of the Union, and their experiences or after effects are never mentioned.

Little Women was originally published in two parts, and sometimes it does feel like two books because there is a slight tonal shift as the girls get married off (or die). Meg simply disappears for a while after she gets married, Jo doesn’t write anything of interest for over a year, and while I love the Professor, I wish there had been more lead-in for their romantic relationship.

There are some extremely well written scenes, like when Amy confronts Laurie about his laziness while they are in Europe together. Prof. Bahr is such a delight, so I LOVE all his scenes. While this isn’t perfect, it is a poignant and relevant American classic piece of literature.

This will continue to be read and treasured for generations to come. I’m inspired to read Little Men and Jo’s Boys someday.

Leave a comment